Be Not Forgetful To Entertain Strangers

The Island on which I reside has frequent showers; to say that it rains here would be an understatement. Even when we are fortunate enough to escape the onslaught of a direct hit from a passing typhoon, near misses often steer the unrelenting monsoon rains in our direction. Those torrential downpours are commonplace; often resulting in flooded streets and even homes. Many have been the times that I found myself outside bailing the rising waters to keep the apartment from being flooded.

On one occasion during our rainy season I found myself caught in an unexpected downpour. Experience has taught me to carry my umbrella and I was fortunate enough to have it with me. As I walked along the sidewalk I happened upon a little boy going in the same direction. He was already soaked as he had nothing to shelter himself from the rain.

My umbrella is barely large enough to protect me, but when I got next to him I slowed to match his stride so I could shelter him from the storm. My left side was now open to the showers, but it was an insignificant inconvenience as I so wanted to shelter this fellow traveler. We both walked along in silence for quite some time; the little boy never saying a word. During our journey together he continued to look down at the sidewalk as we trudged through the rain.

Eventually, I came to my destination. I said to him, “I go here.” It was then that he raised his head and smiled at me. That smile spoke volumes to my heart. But the strangest thing happened when I turned around for one last look at this quiet traveler who had journeyed with me. He was gone. I mean literally nowhere in sight.

Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained angels unawares. – Hebrews 13:2

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Brother Dave

Missionary - Evangelist - Teacher - Counselor

Leave a Reply

